The Dark Threads – Talk

LitFest 2014  lowres

Tuesday 25 March

  The Dark Threads                      Partnership Event

Jean Davison will read from her memoir The Dark Threads and talk 9966about her experiences as a patient at High Royds psychiatric hospital in the 1970s. Electric Shock Treatment and drugs reduced her to a zombie-like state for five years, before she managed to turn her life around. The talk will also include her experiences of writing the book and getting published. A question/discussion session will follow, and then the evening will be rounded off with tea/coffee and biscuits.

7.00pm Oxfam Bookshop, 13-15 Otley Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AA  (next to Skyrack pub)

Free. Donations invited

7 thoughts on “The Dark Threads – Talk

  1. Hope this goes really well for you Jean. I look forward to hearing about it – hope you’ll blog about it? – and let us know what part you read out and how it was received. I’m sure the audience will be moved by your experiences. All the best with it, Ruth x

    • Thanks, Ruth. It’s difficult deciding which parts to read,out and so on. Yes, I’ll blog about it (at least I hope I will but I’m having intermittent trouble with accessing this and other wordpress blogs, as has happened before!). Nervousness about doing the event is offset at the moment with being busy with other things. Jean x

  2. Thanks for letting me know. I will definitely see if I can get there. I hope it goes really well- I should imagine very tough, but also worthwhile in terms of awareness raising and closure:) I’ve re blogged it to promote it for you.

Leave a Reply

