Hello again!

After weeks of not being able to access any WordPress sites, including my own, the problem seems to have been rectified. So here I am back again on Friday the thirteenth.

I’ve been using my long forced-upon-me blog holiday to get on with writing my novel and doing other things without getting distracted with blogging. But it’s great to be back. Before I get down to writing some more blog posts, I’ll just give an update of my happenings.

Soon after the lovely holiday in New York I became ill with some kind of virus which the GP said I’d probably picked up there. I had an itchy rash and felt under the weather. Ian went to do his usual stint as a blood donor but  they refused to let him because (wait for it) my rash might be a sign of West Nile Disease.  Apparently there were mosquitoes in New York at the time we were there carrying this disease. I’d never heard of it before but I looked it up on the internet and almost convinced myself I had it. However, I soon stopped worrying about this when I got something else (totally unconnected with this ) to bother about.

I had what might have been a seizure (never had one before in my life). This was about ten weeks ago. I am now nervously awaiting the results of a CT head scan which I so did not want to have (I might air my moans about this in another post later).

Anyway, on to happy things. I went to London to meet Miriam Drori, a blogger I had never met but whose blog I’ve been following for a long time. She lives in Israel but was over on a visit to England. Miriam has often spoken about social anxiety on her blog, being a sufferer herself, and I think what I’ve often thought of as my shyness might actually be social anxiety. We talked a lot about this, and other things. In fact I felt very much at ease with Miriam and thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon with her. I do hope we’ll meet again. Here is a photo of us outside the British Library.

Miriam

What else has happened? Oh yes, I’ve joined a book club at a local library and the book we’ll be discussing at the next meeting is ‘Flowers for Algernon’ by Daniel Keyes. It’s a science fiction novel, not a genre I usually read but that’s one of the good things about book clubs: it gets me reading books I wouldn’t normally have read and finding some really gone ones.

Another new thing for me was seeing the Northern Ballet company at the West Yorkshire Playhouse. I’m not really into ballet but this was magical. It was a version of ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ which I think is a perfect play for a ballet version. I loved the music, too. All in all, it was a fantastic performance.

I was presented with my ASC Certificate of Achievement in Public Speaking at my speakers club last Monday. Woo hoo!! I’m now a qualified speaker. I’m looking forward to speaking at the Headingley Literature Festival in the New Year. (This year has absolutely flown!). In October I’ve been invited again to do a half-day teaching session to mental health practitioners at the University of Bradford. Going to the speakers club and working toward my certificate has given me the confidence not only to do these things but to enjoy doing them.

If blog posts are supposed to focus on one theme per post, then this one is a hopeless mishmash, but never mind, who wants to stick to the rules? As I say, it’s great to be back, and I look forward to writing more posts soon.

4 thoughts on “Hello again!

  1. I’m glad you’re finally back, and that you were at ease with me as I was with you. Congratulations on the qualification, and I hope the scan results are good. You could say your theme is recent news. Then you’d just be bending the rules 🙂

  2. Hi Jean, firstly congrats on your award, well done for persevering with the public speaking, you’ve had a busy summer and also a worrying one, so fingers crossed that the results will be fine. Good luck too with your up coming engagements, ‘Carry on Blogging/Reading/Speaking and Writing’ ….a film title perhaps?
    Suzette (Crepe) …always looking for another pseudonym! 🙂

  3. Thanks Su (or is it Suzette Crepe now?). I rang the secretary to ask about my scan result today (over two weeks since I had it) and was told it’s too soon and ring back if I haven’t heard in another two weeks. Blimey, they don’t half make you wait! Yes, I’ve had a busy summer and most of it has been good. I hope all’s well with you and your studies.

Leave a Reply

