Back Soon

I’m having a busy and difficult time, so I haven’t got my next post prepared yet. I’ll be back soon. Just thought that, meanwhile, I’ll put a few links here and mention a couple of my forthcoming posts.

I’ll be doing a post on Youth Homelessness shortly. Are you aware of UK’s street children? The majority of people in Britain aren’t, according to the Consortium for Street Children. This is a problem globally and it needs our urgent attention. See also http://www.depauluk.org/, which is the largest national youth homelessness charity in the UK. It is part of Depaul International, a group of charities working to support homeless and marginalised people around the world.

I’m planning to do a post about zoos. Please take a look at the worthwhile work being done by the Born Free Foundation, including their Zoo Check programme. Let’s work together to put an end to oppression, be it of people or animals.

I’ve been included on a history site. Blimey, this does make me feel old! My story is being used on the Learning Resources section of this site here. The History to Herstory website celebrates the lives of women in Yorkshire over 800 years. It is funded by the Big Lottery Fund, West Yorkshire Archive Service and its partners, the University of Huddersfield, The Bronte Society, Hull Local Studies Library and Leeds City Council Libraries. www.historytoherstory.org.uk

‘Normal service will be resumed as soon as possible.’ (I wonder who else is old enough to remember how we used to get this message frequently on the telly).

5 thoughts on “Back Soon

  1. Hi Jean, I look forward to reading your upcoming blogs, sometimes these unavoidable but sad life events do help us dip into that well spring of creativity.The links for ‘Herstory’ have a wealth of information, how flattering to be included. Speak soon, love Sue

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

